Dénes L. Nagy

Lecture title: Poor man's Big Bang: lessons learnt from after-effect studies with Mössbauer emission spectroscopy.

Dénes L. Nagy is a Research Professor Emeritus of the Wigner Research Centre for Physics, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest. He graduated from the Eötvös Loránd University in Budapest in 1967 as a physicist.

After his diploma, already made in Mössbauer spectroscopy, he joined the Central Research Institute for Physics (KFKI) of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, one of the successors of which he is affiliated even today. His main research tool remained Mössbauer spectroscopy including nuclear resonance scattering of synchrotron radiation. Since 1998, he has been also Professor at the Institute of Physics of the Eötvös Loránd University (superannuated since 2013).

Dénes’s major research topics included texture effects, magnetic phase transitions, relaxation effects, ligand field effects on hyperfine interactions in amorphous systems, after-effects of the electron capture in insulators and semiconductors, high-Tc superconductors, grazing-incident nuclear resonant scattering of synchrotron radiation (“Synchrotron Mössbauer Reflectometry”), magnetic and domain structure of coupled multilayers, CEMS polarimetry, etc.

From 1973 to 1995 he spent altogether almost six years in G. Ritter’s group at the University Erlangen–Nürnberg starting as the holder of a DAAD scholarship and concluding as a DFG Guest Professor. In 1991, he was Guest Professor of the Technical University of Darmstadt. In 2014, he was Visiting Professor of the Mössbauer Effect Data Center, Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences.
He is author of 216 scientific papers including several book chapters.

Dénes was awarded the DSc degree of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences in 1988 and was elected a Fellow of the European Physical Society in 2007. He was awarded the Main Prize in Physics of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences in 2010.

He has served and is serving on many international, European and national committees and has been Chair of IBAME, which he is currently an Advisory Member.

This site uses cookies.

Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

  • Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and can only be disabled by changing your browser preferences.